Animes, Photography and everything in between… Pfft..

10-02-07 Vocaloid’s Day Out

Talk about variety! The combination of cosplayers and photographers for this shoot were indeed one with. There were crazy ones, enthusiastic ones, cool ones, blur ones, and more. Lol. Again, had fun during the shoot…

Cosplayer and Characters
Rayray0211 as Nigaito
Gemsy as Ted
Wen as Rei
Chiko as Len
LaMarionette as Rin


.
.

For other photos which didn’t really make the cut, Omakes, and Gifs. Check out NaNeeeE?! – Vocaloid’s Day Out. Am playing it safe regarding em storage space, hence splitting what I think are the “nicer” photos and the others. Quotes on the “Nicer” part is because in photography, beauty really is in the eye of the beholder.
My 2 cents… ;p

In case anyone didn’t click on the must click of the day. Here it is… In Your Face! Lol.


.
.

I have also come across an conclusion. Sort of.
I now believe that (for me at least), the process of having fun during the shoot is more important than getting good pictures itself. Hmm… wait. WtF did I just say? Let me rephrase that…

The process of having fun during the shoot is JUST AS important AS getting good pictures at the end of the day. Lol. Phew… sounds much better, although it truly brings about different meanings. Xp
Unfortunately, this also means that I am not that focused on the end result. Which might bode unwell for cosplayers. HaH!! :p

But then again, I also believe that being comfortable and being able to enjoy yourself during the process is required for a good shoot. Also helps with a good vibe when doing touch-up with the photos. Even when editing the photos I keep remembering cosplayers RayRay and Wen’s “rolling” on the grass mishap. Sorry Wen, I’m still laughing my ass off that moment… Xp

Then again, nothing plays a bigger role than experience I’d say… What the fuck was I talking about again?

Well, as I once mentioned, Self contradiction FTMFW! Lol!!

11 responses

  1. Pingback: 10-02-07 Vocaloid’s Day Out – Extras « NaNeeeE?!

  2. Nice photos but nothing sexy enough to make my eyes sparkling ^^
    Well of course you need to enjoy doing the photos as much as making good pictures.
    Photos are for everyone, doing them is for you and the cosplayers πŸ™‚
    Looking forward to see more cosplay photos ^^

    February 10, 2010 at 4:42 am

  3. Kagamine Rin looks like Rin so that’s awesome ^_^

    February 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  4. Pingback: Cosplay and Events « NaNeee?!

  5. It is fun just to go out on a photo shoot and fire away on the clicker. Sometimes being too serious on a shoot will kill the mood.

    You have some great shots and looking forward to seeing more

    February 12, 2010 at 2:53 am

  6. Not quite my backdrop theme, but it’s unique for vocaloids, and on topic, lol.
    Rin and Len’s hair are also very accurate. Them cosplayers are really good at sculpting them wigs…
    When are we going to get the next life-of-blur post though?

    February 12, 2010 at 6:25 am

  7. @Katsura-chan
    Thanks. Lol. Reading what I posted again, I just realized what I wrote was actually pretty darn obvious; About feeling good during a shoot. πŸ˜›

    @klux
    I was talking to a cosplayer that day. Somehow or rather, I’ve subconsciously made you my “benchmark” for good cosplays. Lol. It hit me when I was telling her that if a commenter called klux said it’s good, IT IS GOOD. Lol…

    @bluedrakon
    Hi there.
    Welcome to NaNeee?! and A Happy New Year! (One month late, but what the heck! Xp)

    Thanks for the kind words. Am definitely trying to improve and hope you’ll enjoy future releases. πŸ™‚

    @Ningyo
    “Not quite my backdrop theme”
    Hahaha. Spot On!
    You are not the only one who feels so. It did feel a little out of place doing a Vocaloid shoot away from structures and buildings and in the nature instead. But we were also planning a real picnic. Lol. Hence the choice of shooting in the green… that and we were trying to see how it would turn out.

    As for the next rant (I assume you mean that)… I think my rage is dying down. Lol. I can’t think of anything I want to rant on.

    I think it’s because I haven’t been doing much animes other than catching up on Naruto Shippudden. And I can’t deny the greatness of it’s last 20 episodes.

    But… Yeah. It’s about time I started doing other series again. Lol… Before NaNeee?! dies off. -.-”

    That and I’ve been rather busy during the weekends for the last month. Had photoshoots during the weekends, then going through the photos will take another 2 to 3 days. Leaving only 2 days for animes, which I would filled up with Naruto. Hehehe… Apologies for not making my rounds lately. To Ningyo and everyone else. :p

    But anyway, Chinese New Year has arrived, 10 days of holiday. And there is NO WAY I am gonna let it slide by without at least completing 2 series of animes. Depending on what completed series I can pull out from my crashed hard disk. The one randomly throwing BSoD’s around.

    February 12, 2010 at 8:37 am

  8. These pics are great….you’re the photographer, right?

    February 13, 2010 at 1:53 am

  9. @Glo
    Thanks! Yeap… πŸ™‚

    February 13, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  10. I LOVE looking at cosplay pictures!!,,, they’re so fun to look at ^^, I went to a cosplay convention last year and it was AWESOMEE, your a real photographer?? wow that’s pretty cool πŸ˜€ I find it pretty creepy when these old men photographer come up to you randomly and ask for a picture,, it’s just weird

    February 14, 2010 at 3:54 am

  11. @Ruby
    Lol. Neh… I’m just picking up photography as a hobby. But I’m really enjoying it. My story also begins with “One day, I went to a convention. I saw all the cosplays and was instantly hooked. Never looked back since… ” :p
    That’s when I started to actively volunteer for cosplay photoshoots.

    As for the old men asking for photos, I actually do that. -.-” During conventions I mean.
    Lol… And I’ve been denied photography a few times too I might. Believe it’s because I look like an old pervert. HAhaHAha.

    February 15, 2010 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

