Animes, Photography and everything in between… Pfft..

11-06-12 Miku, Wedding



.
.


.
.

*Song recommended by Cappy*
Aishiteru by Kourin
From the ending theme of Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou

Hmm.. I need to pick up more Japanese songs. -.-”
I’m running low on songs to attach with shoots. Seriously…

.
.

Looking back at my shoots. Been 2 months since I shot with Ryeain.
Lol.. The moment she reads this I sure kena tembak again. For yet again ffk-ing her on shoots.
Also got to thank Angie for saikang-ing. Also been a while since she saikanged for me. ๐Ÿ™‚
Reflecting on the past shoots, I notice that Ryeain has been improving.
Overall wise, makeup, posing, costume, etc. *cough*editingtoo*cough*
Thanks to that, my photos look better… hurhurhurrr…
Xp

OK. On a serious note. Been talking to a few cossers and photographers.
Don’t know if anyone noticed, but the cosplay photography scene has been shifting rather rapidly.

Used to be that a cosplay photographer would stick around for ages.
Taking years to build up a network. Reaching a certain level with a solid reputation. Before really using the tag Cosplay Photographer on him/herself.
Agreed?

Now, however, new photographers are popping up left, right and center. A photographer just need to attend an event or 2. Produce a few quality photos. And they’ll come โ€œburstingโ€ into the scene.
Again.. Agreed?

Heck, some just buys a D-SLR camera and declares themselves a photographer already.

Wait.. before u assume you know where I’m heading with this, Iโ€™d like to state that I have no problem whatsoever with what Iโ€™ve mentioned. As discussed every now and then, there IS a shortage of cosplay photographers in the local scene. At least that’s what I think. And it’s always good that there are new people getting involved in the cosplay scene. It shows that the community is growing.

What I don’t like is however, is how the previous generation of photographers are quickly replaced by the new ones. Be it because the photographers themselves are โ€œretiringโ€, or be it because the cosplayers are opting for the newer photographers. I don’t care. I just want to see the older photographers continue shooting. I have a list of em on my mind, but I think I’d refrain from actually naming them out. Drama nanti tau.

I’d like to take this chance to just caution all cosplayers (especially for the newer ones) to watch out on accepting shoot requests. While yes, the influx of new photographers into the cosplay scene may be good, promoting competition and hence increase of quality (long arse marketing theory involved but I ain’t gonna explain it. Just focus on your Perdagangan in class *kicks*) but that also mean bad apples are going to pop up as well. I’m sure most would have heard of perverted photographers who shoot obscenely. So yeah… Take care of yourselves k…

๐Ÿ™‚

Hmm… Give me a min. Let me read back to see what I was actually trying to express. -.-โ€
….

Yeah.. Found out what I wanted to say. I want to see more shoots by the older dudes. I’m not saying I don’t want to see shoots by the newer dudes. Just that I don’t want the old dudes to stop shooting. It’s all about diversity. Everyone with their different styles, different approach, different outcome.

After all… That’s what keeps photography interesting.

Caution: If you read through the whole spamshit i just posted. U might want to take a break before looking at the photos.
I’m sure by now you are seeing white lines across your vision.. Lol!

.
.


.
.

Vocaloid
Hatsune Miku, Wedding Dress from Project Diva by Ryeain

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


.
.
.

6 responses

  1. cappyfish

    I absolutely love the mood of these photos~! The lighting is just so perfect — soft and yet illuminating. ๐Ÿ˜€ And Ryeain looks soooo pretty munyuuuuu~!!<3<3 I say you guys captured the cosplay perfectly~

    Not sure which veteran photogs you are referring to on your post, but yes, I totally agree with you on there being more diversity in the cosplay photography scene! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love to work with many different photogs and see their different styles and the different ways people work together. ๐Ÿ™‚ That said though, I did hear about how Singapore faced the problem of too many new photogs on the scene meant that cosplayers were taken advantage of, so I also agree that caution must be taken from both parties so that nothing unwanted happens. :<

    But what *I* want to know is … WHERE HAVE ALL THE FEMALE PHOTOGS GONE??? XDDD We need moar girl powaaaaaaah~!! XD

    July 12, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  2. R

    *tembak* *tembak**tembak* *tembak* >D
    You also come back to scene larhh.. lama dahhh .. tauuu =w=

    July 12, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  3. Wuuuu >.<

    Actually photographers scaled down or 'retire' is due to the online childish drama or because of their busy work/social/school lives. For me its more of a latter thing, work kept me occupied… lots of stuff to do! ;_;

    But I do agree on cosplayers being cautious on accepting requests from new photographers… just bring a few friends or another photog friend along for the ride. XD

    July 12, 2011 at 7:00 pm

  4. I like the overall bluish tone, nice sky

    is it me or the overall feels very Instax-ish though (in a good way)

    July 13, 2011 at 4:04 am

  5. Straight on to the pressing issue, yeah, it’s better to be safe than sorry, can’t just simply put trust onto someone you not know, even more if the person would ask for a solo shoot. So the rule of thumb applies as Hexlord mentioned above =)

    *wants-to-do-moar-solo-shoot*

    Foreveralone.jpg

    July 13, 2011 at 4:32 pm

  6. kurayami

    lol… no lar… no need break b4 seeing photo =D …. n i saw photo 1st rather than the blog =P

    **btw, 1st time posting comment! woots!

    July 13, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Leave a Reply

