Animes, Photography and everything in between… Pfft..

CANAAN. Guin Saga and Kanon’s Road. YoSShhiIIIAAA!

Holy Damn! I just finished CANAAN. Anyone who hasn’t watch it… DO IT! NNOOOWWW! :p

Two years ago, Shibuya was ravaged by a biological terrorist attack using the deadly Ua virus. Maria Osawa was saved when her father inoculated her against the virus, but is left with partial amnesia from the shock. She works as a cameraman when she reunites with a girl named Canaan in Shanghai, China. A gifted assassin with synesthesia, she is under orders from an unknown organization for a yet unspecified mission.
.


.

The anime wouldn’t be the same if any of the characters were missing. Superbly done characters with perfectly matched roles. Well, maybe Liang Qi was a little disturbing. But no complaints otherwise. Everything is so good, I actually don’t have anything thing to rant on. This blows… Pfft.. Xp

No wait, thought of something.
The opening and ending theme… Pfft… It’s probably the only thing holding CANAAN back. The INSERT song in the final episode was another story, it was good. Can’t seem to find it online though.

I hate endings which doesn’t provide a clear conclusion to how everything ends. HATE!
But still, CANAAN left me more satisfied than I would have expected. It’s just that great.

I don’t believe it but I’ve actually found an anime on the same level of greatness as Black Lagoon I /II, and yes, it’s CANAAN. Duh!

Just out of curiosity, would you guys classify CANAAN as a mind-fark? Been trying to get a better understanding of the term lately.
I would, considering Liang Qi and Hakko’s story. But CANAAN by itself doesn’t have too much of a twisted story plot to begin with. Not like Ergo Proxy.
.


Just a little hint on what to expect. Xp
.


Yes, Liang Qi likes her Wii. Lol!
And wants YOU to get some too!
.

CANAAN
Rating: 5-Stars
.


.

Having finish such a great anime, I knew I had to follow it with something of equal quality or I would suffer. And so far, I’ve only read good things about Guin Saga. So Guin Saga it was.
.


.

The ancient kingdom of Parro has been invaded by the armies of Mongaul, and its king and queen have been slain. But the “twin pearls of Parro,” the princess Rinda and the prince Remus, escape using a strange device hidden in the palace. Lost in the Forest of Rood, they are rescued from Mongaul soldiers by a strange leopard-headed man named Guin, who has no memories except for the word “Aurra.”


.

Just out of curiosity, how many of you guys watched Guin Saga? Well… if you haven’t, you should.

Guin Saga IS OFFICIALLY the Best Anime of 2009. Endorsed, Declared, Appointed and Sworn by NaNeee?!, Anime3R, blur.
When I say “Best” I do mean “nothing can touch it with a 10-foot pole. Not even Koukaku No Regios or Basquash! And I hold both anime titles in very high regards mind you.

How can I make such a bold statement you ask?

Well let’s see…
The animation is just slightly above average, nothing to shout about except for the nicely drawn landscapes. The action sequences are a mix. War scenes pretty much sucked but individual combats were nice, being smoothly animated with a touch of flair.
The opening theme is Myehhh… but the ending theme is wonderful. “Saga~ This is my road” is exactly what you would expect as a song by Kanon. A high-pitched opera-styled wonder indeed.


Warning: This video is a FULL FLEDGED SPOILER. Only thing is it’s not subbed in Japanese. Lol!
.

But the story. OMG! The script IS JUST FREAKING AMAZING!
I’ve always been a fan of the RPG genre in anything. Diablo, Dungeon and Dragons, Eye of the Beholder, Dungeon Siege, The Witcher, Magic the Gathering, Archmage, Lone Wolf and the Kai Masters’ series, Baldur’s Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. etc.
But damn! The fantasy setting in Guin Saga is just… amazing. I actually felt like I was reading an Adventure novel when watching Guin Saga. Something I’ve NEVER felt before.

Won’t lie though, there were 2 parts in the anime which I weren’t too fond of. Where Guin, the lead character, would appear out of nowhere and happened to “arrive just in time to save you”. I’d preferred it if they actually showed him making his way instead of just appearing like that. And the fact that they left an open ending. Ass!
Though, it’s just a minor rant of mine. Perfection, so close, yet so far. Lol!

The 2 parts are mediocre compared to the feeling of being so immersed in the story of an anime. Something most animes never bother to do nowadays. They just show you girls, boobs, guns, fireballs and call it a day. No, not Guin Saga. It doesn’t even have the slightest hint of moe. Unless you call Suni moe.
.


Suni: Am I moe?
.


Another day, another funky fansub. Lol.
.


I wanted to express my hate for Remus. But that would get too verbal, am I would pity the abuse he get, so I refrained.
.


FalconnnNNNnn PUUUnnnnCCCHHH!!!!!
.

I now pity the next anime which will need to perform up to my current expectations after watching a good anime such as CANAAN and an epic one such as Guin Saga. Maybe I should go defensive and chose an anime with a bad rep instead. Lol!
We’ll see.
.

Guin Saga
Rating: 5-Stars
.


.

To end the post of the day, I’d just like to say I pretty much have a clear clue on how I should work with Anime3R and NaNeee?! now. Lol.
Few days back, I was integrating, compiling, amending, sharing, and all that crap, between my 2 blogs. When everything was just fine. Everything back to normal now. Page and posts deleted. Back in Anime3R where they belong. And as for NaNeee?!, still trying to make it warm and cozy. Lol!

And I just realized I referred to myself as a third person in Guin Saga section. Egoistic piss-ass indeed. Lol!

12 responses

  1. Really? Guin Saga is epic? That’s the first I’ve heard. Maybe I’ll take a sneak peek and hopefully the first episode won’t phailed me.

    December 3, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  2. Depending on the gender of the wielder, the wii is possibly the most erotic gaming system yet. I’d give her a shake of my nunchuk, hurr hurr hurr.

    KING is in Guin Saga? That blows my mind o.o

    December 4, 2009 at 4:47 am

  3. Yi

    I really need to watch Canaan…
    Time is hard to find and I have a huge backlog.

    December 5, 2009 at 2:02 pm

  4. @klux
    It could probably end up as a 8~9/10 for you. Or maybe worst. Cause we both know I fail at ratings. :p

    But keep this between us ya! Lol.

    Forgot to mention that Guin is quite GAR. So I’m hoping he’ll grow on you and you’ll enjoy the anime as much as I did. Crossed fingers!

    @Ningyo
    Lol@hurrx3.
    Now looking at the Wii in a different manner, I will never let another guy touch my Wii ever again.

    @Yi
    Backlog’s is Public Enemy No.1. Especially for all anime lovers. Lol.

    But put Guin Saga on your list too.
    CANAAN can wait. Am looking forward to your review one year from now. Xp

    December 5, 2009 at 5:44 pm

  5. FaS

    Bro lol, I dropped like allllll of these shows lol.

    December 6, 2009 at 11:21 am

  6. Mart

    Wii in an anime???…..Dont say i didnt drop a comment..LOL

    December 6, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  7. @FaS
    Lol. Shows the vast difference in the taste of animes by different individuals. And shows the world is still unique.

    WTF am I trying to say? No idea… -.-”

    @Mart
    U suck so bad, u rock. Lol!

    December 7, 2009 at 10:01 pm

  8. You think Guin Saga was the best of 09?!?! whoaa!! are you serious? I thought it was absolutely horrible especially having a man with a leopard head as the protagonist, it annoyed me so much that I couldn’t bear to watch any longer. I might consider going to watch it again since it must be so good :3

    December 13, 2009 at 9:10 am

  9. Lol. Yeap. Not joking.

    I was captivated right off the bat from Episode 1. If you didn’t like it since Ep1, I’m guessing it’s not really your cup of tea.

    Watch at own risk! Xp

    And Welcome to NaNeee?! 🙂

    December 13, 2009 at 8:45 pm

  10. Pingback: Anime List « NaNeee?!

  11. Pingback: Music moves the world… « NaNeee?!

  12. Spankda

    Enjoyed Canaan. I thought Maria was a bit of an idiot, but I learned the word sugoi because she used it so much. That’s always a positive.

    April 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Leave a comment